top of page
Search

How I Met the Nishaverse Trilogy

Ever since she contacted me back then in 2020 to review Nisha, the first book of the Nishaverse trilogy, I have never thought that I would hold the Nishaverse so dear to my heart.


In the picture: the map of Seis illustrated by Inez Wandita.


In 2020, I worked for a local, indie skincare company as a part-time copywriter and their social media admin. We held a focus group discussion to test a product. There, I met ci Airin (note: "Ci" or "Cici" is used to address older women in Indonesian). We followed each other on Instagram and somehow, she contacted me and asked if I can read and review her book on my social platforms. I seldom read middle grade back then, but the moment I saw the cover, I was enchanted. The cover was truly beautiful, and after I read it, the series itself is totally unique.


The Nisha trilogy tells us about a young princess named Nisha who one day found her life in a mess. Her parents suddenly betrothed her to Ged, a prince from the neighboring country. Ged is a spoiled brat and Nisha hated him. When she tried to find a way to get out of the engagement, she found out that their kingdom is actually in a bigger danger. They were in a risk of losing a war to the Aklumites and her mother is missing. Thus, Nisha's journey and self development began.



In the picture: the cover of the first book illustrated by Inez Wandita.


Written as a novella, the Nisha trilogy is a perfect read for children and people who want to learn English. The first book is only around 70 pages, and the third book, Elements, which is going to be published on January 31st, 2022, only have around 160 pages. The English is not too complicated, but it's very well written. As I read the trilogy from Nisha, to Sacred Rituals, to Elements, the plot is getting thicker and deeper with every single book written. It's as though I didn't only watch the characters growing, but ci Airin's writing skill is also growing!


Furthermore, I feel like the Nisha trilogy acts as a representative for children because there are lots of diversities in the book. From countries, tribes, to skin color and language, the Nisha trilogy teaches its readers about diversity and how we need each other to survive. I love how the main character, Nisha herself has a unique skin color and unique personality. Unlike the graceful Disney princesses I got to know when I was young, this princess is brave and she knows what it takes to be a princess. The other characters are also amazing! I can sum the characters in three words: brave, unique, and realistic.


The series also took you to lots of places and magical realms that are very entertaining for the readers. One of my favorite is the Lair, which will be revealed in the third book. The Lair is a home for witches and wizards. Ci Airin revealed her inspiration for the Lair to me back then when I interviewed her on my booktube channel, but entering the Lair with Nisha feels like a brand new experience!



In the picture: Elements, the third book cover illustrated by Inez Wandita.


Various topics and issues are also covered in the book. As there is LGBTQ issues in the book, ci Airin confirmed that Nisha is more suitable to be called as a young adult book rather than middle grade. I rarely see the LGBTQ topic covered in a fantasy book, so hurrah to that! More diversities to find in the Nisha trilogy. Some other topics that are slightly covered is sexual abuse and the complicated relationship between immediate families. Hence I also thought that Nisha is not just an entertaining book, but it's also a book with deeper meanings and morally-gray characters. Readers learn that the heroes have bad sides too, and the villains have good sides too. I love that in the end, ci Airin didn't choose to end the book with the cliche happily-ever-after ending, but after all, everyone found their purpose, someone meant for them, or even a new family. I even love how Nisha and her friends beat the villain in the end. Every character in the book went through a great character development and I think it's more than a mere happily-ever-after ending.


After I close Elements; well, technically closed the file in my phone, I found a longing for more. I sincerely miss the characters and I even wonder how some supporting characters would end up in the future. Reading the Nisha trilogy has been a wonderful journey, full of lessons learned, and despite it being called as a trilogy, I hope we can get more books in the future!


Thank you ci Airin for letting me read Elements before it's officially released, and cheers to a great friendship! I didn't know that hello in the WhatsApp group would bring me here, but here I am. I am so grateful to know you, Nisha, Saad, Faris, and... *wink* Elian!



Written by Sherry Heather

a fellow book reviewer and founder of The Mad Tea Book Club.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page